Deutsch Intern
  • [Translate to Englisch:] Prof. Hasse mit einer Gruppe Studierender (Foto: Lehrstuhl für Philosophie III)
  • [Translate to Englisch:] Tablets aus dem MEET-Labor in einer Ladestation (Foto: Lehrstuhl für Schulpädadgogik)
  • [Translate to Englisch:] Bilder aus dem Kino- und Tonstudiolabor (Fotos: Professur für Medien- und Wirtschaftskommunikation)
  • [Translate to Englisch:] Das Methodenlabor der Soziologie (Foto: Lehrstuhl für Methoden der Quantitativen Empirischen Sozialforschung)
Faculty of Human Sciences

Excellence in Teaching Awards

It is important to the Faculty of Human Sciences that outstanding teachers receive the recognition they deserve. This is why each year, the Faculty gives out awards to lecturers who deliver excellence in teaching. The awards come with a cash prize of €1,000.

Individuals who have spent at least two academic years teaching at the Faculty of Human Sciences of JMU and who are regular members of the Faculty’s teaching staff

Award criteria

  • Outstanding teaching skills
  • Ability and willingness to develop innovative teaching methods
  • A particular commitment to enhancing the quality of the Faculty’s teaching and degree programmes
  • An exceptional commitment to mentoring students

Nominees will be selected based on these criteria. The relative weight of each criterion is determined by the nominating Institute (see section ‘How to make a nomination’). The prize money can be split among several awardees.


Nominations should be made by the competent degree subject committees in consultation with their students. Each Institute can nominate one lecturer. Nominations should include a written statement that describes how the nominee meets the award criteria. The degree subject committee’s nomination is forwarded to the Office of the Dean and the Office of the Dean of Study by the Managing Director of the nominating Institute. Nominations will be discussed by the Extended Faculty Board and award decisions made by the Faculty Board.

Deadline for nominations

Nominations should be submitted to the Office of the Dean and the Office of the Dean of Studies by 30 June of each year.


Larissa Ade (Pedagogy)

Dr. Bruno Langmeier (Philosophy)


Year Awardees    
2021 Dr. Michael Bauer (Protestant Theology)    
  André Grandl (Special Education)    
  Jan-Philipp Stein (Human-Computer-Media)    
2020 Sabine Graff (Philosophy)    
  Christian Seufert (Pedagogy)    
2019 Dr. Gerd Pfister (Political Science and Sociology)    
  Dr. Lea Hildebrandt (Psychology)    
  Anna-Katharina Strohschneider, MA (Philosophy)    
2018 Dr. Peter Groß (Special Education)    
  Dr. Rainer Scheuchenpflug (Psychology)    
2017 Dr. Markus Heuft (Philosophy)    
2016 apl. Prof. Dr. Petra Platte (Psychology)    
Year Awardees